november 21 – day twenty-one of thankful thoughts…

Standard

{laughter}

Today I am thankful for laughter.  These girls keep me laughing, that’s for sure.

From singing in the shower/living room/car/grocery store to misusing words to saying just the right thing in the driest tone at the right moment to watching countless cat videos, we are laughing a lot these days.

Just yesterday, I hid in the bathroom and scared Pickles.  I thought it was hilarious.  She did not.  But the annoyed look on her face made it even funnier.  If I’d done the same thing to Summer, she would have screamed back and probably taken a swing at me, which would also have been funny.  I love looking for ways to scare my children.  It’s fun.

Last night we saw The Skit Guys at our church.  I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. My cheeks were sore when we left.  It felt great.  My grandmother was sitting next to me and I could see her wiping the tears from laughing so hard off her face.  My dad was sitting two seats over, knee-slapping the table.  I was waiting for someone-who-will-remain-nameless to laugh-snort at any minute… because I knew that if she did that, I would probably wet my pants, snorting along with her.  Those guys are funny.  Anyone who can make an entire family with people aged 11-90 laugh that hard is GOOD!

I’m glad God gave us the gift of laughter.  It truly is good medicine!

“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.”
Job 8:21
Leave a Reply

