november 17 – day seventeen of thankful thoughts…

Standard

thanks

 

I know it is a little early, but I’m just plain thankful for Thanksgiving.  I love this time of year.  I really enjoy other holidays, too, for their own reasons, but Thanksgiving, I think, just might be my favorite.

Pumpkin drinks, pumpkin-flavored bread, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, cornbread dressing, glazed carrots, bread dressing, turkey, ham… mmm mmm mmm.

This holiday requires no gifts.  No shopping.  No thinking.  No wrapping.

We make food for one day.  If we are lucky, we have leftovers for a day or so.  And that’s it.  When it’s over, it’s over and there is nothing to pack up and put away, except for maybe a few fall decorations, which I didn’t even manage to put out this year.

Family.  We are all together… either my family or the in-laws.  Sometimes both sides!!  And I love them all, so there!

Football.  This one took a while to warm up to, but especially now since we get to stay home and watch the game from our comfy chairs with full bellies.

And some years there is hunting.  It might seem weird, but it sure is exciting when one of the grandkids or husbands (or yours truly) hits their target and there is a deer carcass hanging in the tree after dark.

Thanksgiving seems to be on the verge of being phased out by merchandisers and retailers.  But not here.  Not in my house.  I just love the simplicity of this holiday.

And I am looking forward to it!!!

Leave a Reply

