november 16 – day sixteen of thankful thoughts…

Standard

music-pictures-and_90191.jpg

Today I am thankful for music.  At this moment there are about ten teenage girls in my kitchen, singing along to music.  I love it.

If you were to look at the iPod playlists and Pandora stations of my family, you would learn that our music tastes are quite varied.  You would find praise and worship music, 80’s music, musicals, Bon Jovi, country, bluegrass, and just about everything in between.  We love our music.  iTunes has been the best invention for us – no more piles and piles of CD’s lying around… we have it all on us all the time!

Personally, I have different playlists for different moods.  Playlists for exercise.  Playlists for studying.  Playlists for getting ready in the morning.  A playlist for Friday.

I had a roommate who called some of her music “motivational music” and we’d play it for cleaning or stress relief.  I loved that.

Music can move me to worship.  It can make me cry.  It can also make me sing like a crazy person, playing air guitar and singing into an imaginary microphone, and it can also make me dance.  We two-step, line dance, and Zumba on the fly!  I can’t imagine a world without music.  It is such an integral part of my family’s life.

“Music give a soul to the universe,
wings to the mind,
flight to the imagination,
and life to everything.”  
Plato

 

Leave a Reply

