november 2 – day two of thankful thoughts…

Standard

This girl…this girl

Today I am thankful for her.

She can make me laugh like no one else.  Her impressions, singing, silliness, quirky lines, and uninhibited spirit keep me smiling.

When she isn’t making me crazy, that is… but isn’t that the job of a 17-year-old wonder child?  To keep her mother guessing?  And give her a few gray hairs?  I kid, I kid… sort of.

In all seriousness, I am thankful for her today because of the young woman she is becoming.  I had the pleasure of shopping with her today for a few hours.  Shopping isn’t at the top of either of our lists of favorite things to do.  Two hours, twelve stores, and one (very cute) pair of shoes later, we were finished.  We ended with a snack and drink in the Target cafe, talking about all kinds of things… and I got a rare glimpse into her thoughts.

She has convictions.  And she takes a hard line on issues many of her peers are struggling with.  And she understands where some of her friends have messed up… big… and she is learning to have compassion for them.  She sees how lost so many of her peers are.  She is spiritually miles ahead of where I was at her age.  It gives me a great sense of peace regarding the big decisions she has to make in the coming months and years… where to go to college, what to study, who to keep close as friends, who to marry, etc.  She gets it that getting through life without a lot of extra baggage is a blessing.  She sees that while her salvation may not have been out of some horrible situation, it has kept her from dealing with some horrible situations and consequences.   I have faith that she will seek the Lord’s guidance and will listen.

I am thankful for our visit today.  We don’t get to spend near as much time just the two of us these days… this was a rare and very special treat.  And I am thankful.

“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young,
but set an example for the believers
in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.” ~ I Timothy 4:12

Leave a Reply

