would you rather…

Standard

Would you rather travel to space or go deep into the ocean?

The writing prompt for today left me a little… empty in the word department.  But I thought it might be a good exercise to write about it anyway, discovering where my thoughts and words would take me.

My first response was, “Neither! I like my feet on solid ground.”  Then I asked my husband, who immediately responded, “Space.”  He is a man of few words.  Sometimes.  When I asked him why that was his answer, he responded, “Because I would feel claustrophobic under all that water.”

I asked him if he realized he would be in a capsule in space and he said that didn’t matter because of all the… space.

He wasn’t much help when it came to exploring my thoughts on the matter.

Like I said, I like my feet on solid ground.

Mind you, I don’t mind traveling ON the ocean.  I just don’t have a desire to go UNDER it.  And I’m not big on the whole heights thing, though I have a feeling that looking down on Earth from space wouldn’t be anything close to looking over the ledge of a tall building.

I don’t know.  I just can’t seem to wrap my head around either of those options.  So let’s change it up a little…

Would you rather travel to the mountains or the beach?

That’s easy.  Give me a beach-side pool, an umbrella, and a book and I’m in heaven.  There’s just something about basking in the sun that is so, so, so relaxing to me!  The smell of the ocean… the sound of the waves… the grit of the sand between my toes… and the way my skin feels after soaking up the sun… ahhh… where’s the number for the travel agent?

One response »

Leave a Reply

