>meet the TEACHER

Standard

>

Wow.  Tonight was harder than I thought it would be.  And then again, it wasn’t that bad.  I really like SuperGirl’s homeroom teacher.  She’ll have three teachers this year and from what I hear they are all wonderful ladies.  But I am really glad SuperGirl landed in Mrs. J’s class.  I am hoping she will really help SuperGirl along with her transition from schooling at home to public school.  I’m hoping she helps me a little, too.

When we got to the school, I was fine.  (I’d driven by a little earlier and wasn’t fine!)  I think having Hubby there with me helped.  But as soon as I walked in the door, I felt a rush of emotions… then I saw my neighbor who was so surprised to see me… and she hugged me and asked how I was… and I nearly lost it.  I kept thinking that if it was this bad tonight, what would Monday look like? 

SuperGirl met her teacher and picked out a place to sit in the classroom.  She was very, very quiet which is very unusual for her.  She even kept her head down and her little cheeks were red.  It was really cute.  We took her around to meet the other third grade teachers and she was very quiet with them, too.  She didn’t miss a thing, though.  She carried her folder around and took note of where the bathrooms and library were. 

We go to church with several teachers at the school so we stopped in their rooms to say hello and let them know our SuperGirl was there, too.  After making our way through the school, we headed off to the cafeteria to pick up her school shirt, join the PTO, volunteer for stuff, pay for lunches, and order a school hoodie.  I think we’re all set. 

SuperGirl was most excited about the menu calendar she received.  She read it the whole way home, thinking about which days she would buy her lunch instead of bringing it from home.  She is going to have so much fun…  I can’t wait to see where this year takes her!

The real question is, how will I survive Monday?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

